Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Southend United Announce Retained List

17 May 2019

Southend United Football Club has confirmed its retained list with The EFL following the culmination of the 2018/19 season.

John White has been offered a new contract, while the club has activated options in contracts for Sam Barratt, Michael Klass, Harry Phillips, Lewis Gard, Tom Clifford and Rob Howard.

11 players have departed Roots Hall, including Ben Coker, Michael Turner, Stephen Hendrie, Ted Smith, Amadou Ba, Norman Wabo, Renei Batlokwa and Josh Bexon while three Academy players, Dan Humphreys, Joe Mackenzie and Sewa Marah have also left the club.

Coker, who informed the club of his decision to leave at the end of his contract, has been at Blues since 2013 and made 208 appearances scoring four goals as well as winning promotion in the League Two Play-Off Final in 2015.

Taylor Moore, Sam Hart and Harry Bunn have returned to their parent clubs following their loan spells.

Southend would like to place on record its gratitude to every player leaving the club for their efforts and professionalism during their time at Roots Hall and wishes them the best of luck in the future.


Amadou Ba

Ben Coker

Josh Bexon

Michael Turner

Norman Wabo

Renei Batlokwa

Stephen Hendrie

Ted Smith

Academy Released

Dan Humphreys

Joe Mackenzie

Sewa Marah


John White

Taken up Options

Harry Phillips

Lewis Gard

Michael Klass

Sam Barratt

Tom Clifford

Rob Howard

Offer – Academy

Emile Acquah

Eren Kinali

Zak Pianim

Harry Seaden

Miles Mitchell-Nelson

Idemudia Udebhu-Osimeh

Terrell Egbri

Sam Knock

Matthew Rush

Stewart O’Shane

Jon Benton

Advertisement block