Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Two named in League 2 Team of the Year

29 April 2013

Ryan Cresswell and Sean Clohessy named in PFA League 2 Team of the Year

Two members of the Southend United squad have been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association League 2 Team of the Year.

Defenders Ryan Cresswell and Sean Clohessy were both selected in the bext XI for 2012/13 at the PFA Awards dinner on Sunday evening.

Sean has been an ever-present for Blues this season at right-back having played every single minute of all 59 of our games this season.

Ryan, who joined in the summer, has also been a mainstay in Blues’ starting XI this season playing in 54 of the matches in League and Cup competitions.

The big central defender has scored eight goals this campaign while right-back Sean has scored four times, including back-to-back penalties against Port Vale and AFC Wimbledon.

npower League 2 Team of the Year: Stuart Nelson (Gillingham); Sean Clohessy (Southend), Adam Barrett (Gillingham), Ryan Cresswell (Southend), Joseph Martin (Gillingham); Jacques Maghoma (Burton Albion), Marlon Pack (Cheltenham), Gary Jones (Bradford City), Jennison Myrie-Williams (Port Vale); Tom Pope (Port Vale), Jamie Cureton (Exeter City).

Advertisement block